top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLovely Cedeno

Teaching Practice


 

1. Procedures of your teaching

The topics that were assigned to be discussed in that week is all about vegetables.

First Teaching


  1. The first thing we did on that day was the preparatory routinary activities. These were the activities where we recite our prayers, check the attendance, greetings, etc.

  2. Our topic for that day was all about the leafy vegetables, at first I showed them the pictures but it did seem that nobody reconized most of the vegetables. So I introduced them the vegetables one by one and pasted it on board then labeled. I also underlined the first letter of each word names of the fruits because it will be handy for my next activity.

  3. The next activity was a dyad activity. The pupils have to pick a companion and sit opposite one another. Each pair of pupils will be provided a set of picture cards and clips. The picture cards will be placed facing down and both pupils had to fold their arms first. When the teacher signaled for the game to start, one of the pair of pupils had to pick one card out of the scattered pile of cards, then identify the first letter of that vegetable and placed a pin on the correct letter below the picture. Each pupil will do the same alternately until they had answered all the cards.

  4. The final activity was cut and stick the vegetable or fruit on the correct category.


Second Activity:


Final Activity:

Evaluated Teaching


  1. Just like all the other days, we started our class with the preparatory routinary activities( the prayers, greetings).

  2. Using the picture cards for review, I let them identify the pictures illustrated on the cards. When they were not familiar with the vegetable that’s when I reintroduced the vegetable again. The pupils who were able to answer me were the ones who pasted the picture cards on the board consecutively.

  3. I gave them a group activity called “we are all in this together”, wherein one of their groupmate will be blindfolded and picked put a picture card to be pasted on the board. The other members of the group will identify the picture whether it is a leafy vegetable or non leafy vegetable and assist their blindfolded member by guiding the way using words.

  4. After the activity that uses large motor, I provided another activity using fine motors through finger painting. The pupils were given a preprinted out copy of the corn, green paint and yellow orange paint. The children will stamp their finger prints on papers given following the kernels form.



First Activity:



Second Activity

A link for the video of the game “we are in this together” will be provided. https://drive.google.com/open?id=1j1E6l0mmHN9BWr1a6XBXI2OIx4uRi8Bt


Last Activity



 

2. Time management and organizing activities

Luckily, my assigned school was generous enough to let me use the materials and facilities within the school. Every after 2 o'clock, I will prepare my lesson plan and materials to be used for the next following demo teaching. Most often, my i cooperating teacher allowed me to spend my afternoon time for preparations.


I gave the children an interactive and fun filled novel activities. The novelty and newness of the activity caught the curiosity of most children. They were responsive and very active when I introduced my activities. My appreciation and awe to each child's attentiveness and accuracy to fulfill the task is overflowing. I am fully gratified and thankful for their accuracy because they helped me organize my time and manage my activities well.


 

3. Problem-solving

Prior to my demo teaching that will be evaluated by both my mentor in the receiving University and my cooperating teacher, I got really anxious about the children’s behavior(Will they participate or not?). I was extremely nervous that they will just sat down and wont participate for there were new people who came inside the room that day( my mentor and my buddy). Despite the frightening reality that it will happen, I did not secure a solution when that problem will arise. The same scenario did happened on the day that I will be evaluated. During the demo teaching, in able for me to get responses from the pupils I resorted to reinforce the behavior with stars and so they somehow became more responsive.

Other activities:


 

4. Classroom management

In dealing children ages ranging from 2 to 6 years of age, activities inside the class must be exciting, full of wonders and they will be able to feel a sense of fulfillment when they have achieved what are asked by the teacher.

The activities that I had presented and introduced to the pupils studying in STMI were filled with fun and excitement because they were new and did caught the children's attention. When the pupils‘ attention were given to the activity, they will be readily eager to do the things you want them to do. For readiness comes with confidence, they were courageous and became initiator of the class. They were not ashamed of reciting and answered in front of teachers and their classmates. The outcome of it all was satisfaction. The children were satisfied and excited to share the activities they did during that day.

Another aspect of my classroom management was the star tokens. These star tokens can be exchanged with prizes like chocolates, stickers, erasers, pencils, etc. I introduced this type of system to be able to practice each child’s mathematical skills whenever they wanted to exchange their tokens into prizes. Each prize comes with its respective number of tokens needed for the trading to happen. It was fun-filled, fulfilling at the same time cognitively active.


 

5. Your overall impression in teaching

Despite the failures and problems I had surpassed, I am still grateful for the opportunity given to help and support in enhancing my capacity and capability to become a better and more equipped future educator. Through the failure comes lessons, and with that I have gained a newly acquired important skill to be an effective and competently qualified individual.

Teaching especially when dealing children, teaching must really be constituted through play and other enjoyable activities. Not only just playing and for enjoyment, the activities must also be of help in gaining knowledge as well as useful life skills for each child.

Building rapport is crucially of importance, for it will break or build the competence and capabilities of teachers to inculcate and instill the lessons that you want your pupils to acquire.



6. Others


 

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Observation on Teacher(s) in the classroom

1. Their planning for Teaching In planning for teaching, the class teacher need to provide and present their daily lesson (Rencana Pelaksenaan Pembelajaran Harian (RPPH). The lesson plan is in line to

bottom of page